Skjaerlund Grant


Dr. John Skjaerlund was an accomplished scholar and an Assistant Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Wayne State University. He earned his PhD in Experimental Pathology, MS in Physics, along with DVM and MD. He completed his Emergency Medicine Residency at Wayne State University/Detroit Medical Center in June of 1989 and shortly thereafter joines the department as a faculty member. He was an investigator in the EM Basic Science Laboratory from December 1989 to July 1992 and made significant contributions to the department's research efforts. Dr. Skjaerlund was a compassionate and caring physician who was well-liked and respected by his colleagues. He tragically passed away while climbing a mountain in the summer of 1992. 

The John Skjaerlund, M.D. Endowed Medical Student Research Fellowship was established in his memory to encourage medical students to pursure research work in the Department of Emergency Medicine. 


1.) Applicants must be a Wayne State University School of Medicine Medical Student who are in Years 1 through 3. 

2.) The project must be related to the care provided to patients in the emergency department. Within this field, we will prioritze proposals related to the mentors' areas of investigation. Our current projects include, but are limited to: 

  • Resuscitation Research
  • Vascular Access
  • Neurological Emergencies
  • Ultrasound 
  • Sepsis
  • Community and Preventative Health
  • Heart Failure
  • Pulmonary Embolism
  • Traumatic Brain Injury (Basic Science)

3.) The project must include significant research work performed by the applicant. This can include data collection, data analysis and drafting manuscripts and other presentations. The scope of this project should be equivalent to a summer externship, or 8-10 weeks of full time effort. 

4.) The project must revolve around an original hypothesis or objective. While we encourage working closely with a research mentor, projects that involve such tasks as data entry, or manuscript writing for an existing project will not be highly considered. 

5.) The project may not be funded through any other mechanism. 

Planning Ahead: 

1.) Consider the area of reasech you which to pursue.

2.) Seek out a research mentor

3.) Once you have found a mentor, decide on a project.

4.) Begin to write up your research proposal


Four applicants will receive $2,000 each. 


For those applyting to the WSU MSSRF, you may use the same application. Please submit your applications HERE

Research Mentors

Aaron Brody, M.D.

Dr. Brian O'Neil, M.D.

Robert Ehrman, M.D.

James Paxton, M.D.

Mark Favot, M.D.

Claire Pearson, M.D.

Rita Kumar, Ph.D.

Thomas Sanderson, M.D.

V. Arun Kumar, M.D.

Robert Sherwin, M.D.

Anthony Lagina, M.D.

Robert Welch, M.D.

Phillip Levy, M.D.



Past Recipients
Tom Engles - 2013
Douglas Stayer - 2014
Rosa Tolomello - 2015
Megan Courtly - 2015
Jacob Oblak - 2016
Sean Blackburn - 2016


For a printable version of this application, you may download it HERE.

For any questions, please contact Dr. Aaron Brody at